My One Hundredth Horse!

autumn-horseHello! It’s been a while since I last posted anything, but I’ve decided to start writing again. There’s a lot going on in my life right now, so I should have some exciting stories to tell you, but I might be a bit irregular in how often I post articles. Think of them as a nice surprise! (I hope it’s a nice surprise!!)

Ok, so my first news – as you may have gathered from the title – is that I’ve now ridden 100 horses! I’ve kept a list of the names of every horse and pony I’ve ridden since I started learning properly, and it just kept growing!

It was at 99 for quite a long time before horse number 100 came along, and it seems very fitting that she was a special horse. My 100th horse is a polo pony!!! But more about that later…

100 is quite a significant number, it sounds almost exaggerated but it’s not, I promise! I’m yet to own my own horse (that’s a dream of mine that will come true one day!) and have been riding now for about eight-and-a-half years.

Mostly I’ve just had weekly lessons at my riding school, with occasional extra rides whenever there were Pony Club rallies or summer camps. I love horses but I’m not one of those lucky, lucky people who get to ride nearly every day.

As much as I wish I had a horse of my own, not doing so may be partly why I’ve been able to ride such a variety of different horses. From 4-year-old Connemaras to 16.2hh Irish Draughts, elderly thoroughbreds to cheeky little Welsh ponies, beautiful Andalucians to trustworthy trekking cobs, I’ve had the chance to ride many different horses and ponies!

It’s worth noting that all the horses I’ve ridden were relatively safe, enough to be in a riding school. They all have their quirks and difficulties – some of them were by no means easy – but none of them were dangerous or ‘problem’ horses. I don’t want to lie about my ability!!

Still, compared to people who have ridden the same horse for the past six years or so, getting on a horse that I don’t know doesn’t phase me. (And I know nobody would give me a horse they didn’t think I could manage.)

100 is a significant number, and it means I have lots of stories to share!! I know though that I’m far from being a ‘good’ rider, whatever that vague and ever-shifting label means, so I still want to learn as much about horses as I can! I’ll be writing about what I’ve learned (and what I love) here. I hope you’ll join me on the endless journey of equine obsession!! And I’d love to hear your stories too, so please share them in the comments!

See you soon,

Horse Daydreamer xx

Leave a Reply

